Skip to content
Falkirk Counts — Falkirk, in numbers.Local help →

Falkirk, in numbers

People and living standards

Falkirk council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Falkirk council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 142,500 in 1991 to 160,230 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Falkirk council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 143,040 people in 1996; 160,230 people in 2025. 12% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Falkirk council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991142,500
1992142,400
1993142,240
1994142,280
1995142,680
1996143,040
1997143,340
1998143,880
1999144,570
2000144,650
2001145,270
2002145,920
2003146,800
2004148,300
2005150,130
2006151,090
2007152,320
2008153,290
2009154,210
2010155,130
2011156,250
2012156,580
2013156,860
2014157,270
2015157,880
2016158,660
2017159,240
2018159,090
2019159,530
2020158,990
2021158,760
2022158,450
2023159,000
2024159,850
2025160,230
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Falkirk council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 28,580 people in 1996; 26,166 people in 2025. 8.4% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Falkirk council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199128,335
199228,399
199328,553
199428,629
199528,703
199628,580
199728,504
199828,493
199928,569
200028,549
200128,308
200227,974
200327,988
200427,963
200528,140
200628,113
200728,080
200828,224
200928,246
201028,452
201128,398
201228,277
201328,069
201427,966
201527,940
201627,967
201727,875
201827,763
201927,720
202027,530
202127,213
202226,959
202326,792
202426,614
202526,166
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Falkirk council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 93,038 people in 1996; 101,337 people in 2025. 8.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Falkirk council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199193,279
199292,988
199392,641
199492,547
199592,745
199693,038
199793,264
199893,636
199994,065
200093,953
200194,525
200295,270
200395,942
200497,113
200598,538
200699,312
2007100,360
2008100,794
2009101,306
2010101,540
2011102,375
2012101,870
2013101,657
2014101,424
2015101,481
2016101,676
2017102,000
2018101,549
2019101,634
2020101,080
2021100,714
2022100,330
2023100,590
2024101,150
2025101,337
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Falkirk council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 21,422 people in 1996; 32,727 people in 2025. 52.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Falkirk council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199120,886
199221,013
199321,046
199421,104
199521,232
199621,422
199721,572
199821,751
199921,936
200022,148
200122,437
200222,676
200322,870
200423,224
200523,452
200623,665
200723,880
200824,272
200924,658
201025,138
201125,477
201226,433
201327,134
201427,880
201528,459
201629,017
201729,365
201829,778
201930,176
202030,380
202130,833
202231,161
202331,618
202432,086
202532,727
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2022 census · 158,435 residents
How this census compares with other years

Scotland’s census was held in 2022. These are native Scottish broad categories, with African separate from Caribbean or Black. The national term minority ethnic also includes some White groups, so it must not be read as non-White. Privacy-adjusted cells can differ from published totals. Categories containing an undefined source dash are unavailable pending a verified aggregate release or symbol definition.

Ethnic group · Falkirk · 2022
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White: Total152,92496.5%
Mixed or multiple ethnic groupNot availableNot available
Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: TotalNot availableNot available
African: TotalNot availableNot available
Caribbean or Black: TotalNot availableNot available
Other ethnic groups: TotalNot availableNot available

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 155,990 residents
How this census compares with other years

The 2011 UK table retains its own category structure, including a separate Traveller category. It is not automatically comparable with later national census categories or modern district boundaries.

Ethnic group · Falkirk · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White152,89298%
Gypsy / Traveller / Irish Traveller1450.1%
Mixed / Multiple ethnic group3340.2%
Asian / Asian British: Indian4130.3%
Asian / Asian British: Pakistani1,1480.7%
Asian / Asian British: Bangladeshi110%
Asian / Asian British: Chinese2750.2%
Asian / Asian British: Other Asian2260.1%
Black / African / Caribbean / Black British3310.2%
Other Ethnic Group2150.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 11.9% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Falkirk council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,589 per person in 1997; £22,880 per person in 2024. 166.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Falkirk council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,589
19988,740
19999,364
20009,665
200110,351
200210,638
200311,105
200411,618
200511,968
200612,720
200713,462
200813,991
200913,846
201013,762
201114,221
201214,813
201315,222
201415,482
201515,847
201616,541
201717,082
201817,522
201918,237
202018,324
202118,764
202219,765
202321,424
202422,880
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Falkirk council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -19% in 1997; -11.9% in 2024. 7.1 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Falkirk council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-19
1998-19.3
1999-17.2
2000-18.8
2001-16.3
2002-15.9
2003-14.8
2004-14.4
2005-14.9
2006-13.1
2007-12.3
2008-11.2
2009-13.5
2010-14.8
2011-12.7
2012-12.3
2013-13.1
2014-14.4
2015-16.7
2016-14.1
2017-13.3
2018-14.1
2019-13.4
2020-12.7
2021-14.1
2022-13.9
2023-12.4
2024-11.9
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

Not available

20 March 2022 · Falkirk council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Scottish degree-or-higher excludes HNC/HND and is kept distinct from the wider Level 4+ measure used elsewhere.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

Not available

20 March 2022 · Falkirk council area

Show the workings

All usual residents

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

Average home price

£173,000

July 2026 · Falkirk council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

Some Scottish ethnicity categories are withheld because their source output areas contain undefined dash markers: Mixed or multiple ethnic group; Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: Total; African: Total; Caribbean or Black: Total; Other ethnic groups: Total. The markers have not been interpreted as zero.

A verified 2001 Scottish ethnicity snapshot on this exact area code is not included in this release.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.